Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

At A Glance: Medicaid Fraud Control Units Fiscal Year 2017 Annual Report

Medicaid Fraud Control Units (MFCUs or Units) investigate and prosecute Medicaid provider fraud and patient abuse or neglect. They operate in 49 States and the District of Columbia. The Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General is the designated Federal agency that oversees and annually approves Federal funding for MFCUs through a recertification process. For this report we analyzed the annual statistical data on case outcomes—such as convictions; civil settlements and judgments; and recoveries—that the 50 MFCUs submitted for fiscal year 2017.

A graphic showing key statistics from the report.  View a text-based version of this graphic using the link below.

Read a text-based version of this graphic.