Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Self-Disclosure Information

Self-disclosures should not be reported to the OIG Hotline.

The Office of Inspector General (OIG) has several self-disclosure processes that can be used to report potential fraud in Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) programs. Choose the one that applies to you from the following descriptions to learn more.

Health Care Fraud Self-Disclosures

  • Health care providers, suppliers, or other individuals or entities subject to Civil Monetary Penalties can use the Provider Self-Disclosure Protocol, which was created in 1998, to voluntarily disclose self-discovered evidence of potential fraud. Self-disclosure gives providers the opportunity to avoid the costs and disruptions associated with a Government-directed investigation and civil or administrative litigation. Visit the Health Care Fraud Self-Disclosure Protocol webpage for more information.

HHS Contractor Self-Disclosures

  • Contractors are individuals, businesses, or other legal entities that are awarded Government contracts, or subcontracts, to provide services to the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). OIG's contractor self-disclosure program enables contractors to self-disclose potential violations of the False Claims Act and various Federal criminal laws involving fraud, conflict of interest, bribery or gratuity. This self-disclosure process is available for those entities with a Federal Acquisition Regulation-based contract. Visit the Contractor Self-Disclosure webpage for more information.

HHS Grant Self-Disclosures

  • HHS grant recipients or subrecipients must disclose evidence of potential violations of Federal criminal law involving fraud, bribery, or gratuity violations, potentially affecting the Federal award. Federal regulation, 45 C.F.R. § 75.113, mandates disclosures of criminal offenses that non-Federal entities must make with respect to HHS grants.
  • Recipients of HHS awards may voluntarily disclose conduct creating liability under the Civil Monetary Penalty Law (CMPL), 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7a, or any other conduct—such as conduct that might violate civil or administrative laws—that does not clearly fall within the scope of offenses described at 45 C.F.R. § 75.113.
  • Visit the HHS OIG Grant Self Disclosure Program webpage for more information.