Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Grant Fraud

HHS is the largest grant making agency in the Unites States. HHS provides grant awards through 12 Operating Divisions. Most HHS grants are provided directly to states, territories, tribes, and educational and community organizations. Grant dollars must be used for their intended purpose, and awardees must account for costs and justify expenditures. HHS-OIG is responsible for investigating allegations of fraud, waste, and abuse.

Types of grant fraud
  • Theft or embezzlement
  • Misuse of grant funds
  • Falsifying information in award applications (e.g. misrepresenting facts about qualifications or eligibility, personnel, facilities, or budget)
  • Falsifying information in progress reports or other submissions (e.g. misrepresenting project status or results)
  • Falsifying data or results, including research data
  • Falsifying documents, such as time and effort records
  • Billing for work that was not performed
  • Billing for expenses not incurred as part of the award