Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Awards Recognize Accomplishments of the Inspector General Community

Media Contact

Paul Light to Provide Keynote Address

Washington, DC - More than 85 individuals and groups will be recognized on Tuesday, October 16, 2012, for their outstanding accomplishments at the 15th annual inspector general community awards ceremony. Mr. Paul Light, Paulette Goddard Professor of Public Service, New York University - Wagner, will provide the keynote address at the ceremony hosted by the Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency (CIGIE).

The Honorable Jeffrey Zients, CIGIE Executive Chairperson, Deputy Director for Management and Chief Performance Officer, Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and currently Acting Director, OMB, will present the inspector general (IG) community's most prestigious awards. Additionally, the Honorable Phyllis K. Fong, CIGIE Chairperson, and Mr. Carl A. Clinefelter, CIGIE Vice Chairperson, will present Awards for Excellence to recognize auditors, investigators, inspectors, attorneys, and other employees in the Federal IG community.

This year's Alexander Hamilton Award will be awarded to the Environmental Protection Agency's Deepwater Horizon Interdisciplinary Audit, Evaluation and Legal Team in recognition of its significant contributions to improving the protection of the environment from oil spills of unprecedented magnitude and the government's ability to meet its legal obligations and effectively manage and pay for associated costs. The award highlights achievements in improving the integrity, efficiency, and effectiveness of Executive Branch agency operations and is the highest award bestowed by the Inspector General community.

The 2012 Sentner Award for Dedication and Courage will honor the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Office of Inspector General (OIG) Investigative Team for the investigation and apprehension of a child pornography suspect, recognizing the Team for uncommon selflessness and dedication to duty involving life-threatening violence during service of a search warrant. The award recognizes an individual or a team demonstrating uncommon dedication and courage in the face of adversity and was named for William "Buddy" Sentner, III, a special agent at the Department of Justice OIG who was fatally shot in the line of duty in 2006.

Additional examples of teams that will be honored at Tuesday's awards ceremony include:

  • The Gaston L. Gianni, Jr. Better Government Award to the Operation Five Aces Investigation team from the Small Business Administration OIG in recognition of outstanding achievement for successfully investigating and prosecuting "the largest bribery and bid-steering scheme in the history of federal contracting."
  • The Glenn/Roth Exemplary Service Award to the Exposure to Sodium Dichromate at Qarmat Ali Team, U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) OIG, in recognition of exceptional performance providing reporting that addressed Congressional concerns regarding efforts to provide access to health care for DoD personnel exposed to the carcinogen sodium dichromate at Qarmat Ali, Iraq.
  • The Barry R. Snyder Joint Award to the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System and Consumer Financial Protection OIG, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation OIG, and Department of the Treasury OIG Joint Review Team in recognition of exemplary joint work to review the transfer of functions of the Office of Thrift Supervision to the Federal Reserve Board, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

In fiscal year 2011, the IG community identified potential savings of over $93 billion as well as program efficiencies and enhancements. OIGs successfully investigated individuals and entities who threatened government integrity and the public trust. Cumulatively, these efforts resulted in $84.8 billion in potential savings from audit recommendations; $9.1 billion in potential savings from investigative recoveries and receivables; over 6,500 indictments and criminal informations; over 6,000 successful prosecutions; over 5,600 suspensions or debarments; and over 470,000 hotline complaints processed.

The Inspector General Act of 1978, as amended, established OIGs within Federal agencies to combat fraud, waste, abuse, and to improve the economy and efficiency of program operations. The IG community has more than 14,700 audit, investigation, inspection, and other professionals at 73 Federal OIGs.

The CIGIE is composed of Inspectors General and government ethics and law enforcement officials.

The awards ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. on Tuesday, October 16, 2012, at the Baird Auditorium, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, 10th and Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20560. Those attending the ceremony will need to enter at the main entrance on Constitution Avenue.

For more information on the IG community, visit . For additional information on the awards or the ceremony, please contact Mark Jones, CIGIE Executive Director, at (202) 292 2600.