Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Awards To Recognize Accomplishments of Inspector General Community

Media Contact

Eighty-five individuals and groups will be receiving awards from the IG community for outstanding accomplishments. The Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency (CIGIE), which is bestowing the awards, will hold the ceremony on October 19, 2010. Pierre Thomas, ABC News Senior Justice Department Correspondent, will deliver the keynote address.

The Honorable Jeffrey Zients, CIGIE Executive Chair and Deputy Director for Management and Chief Performance Officer, Office of Management and Budget, will present the IG community’s most prestigious awards. The Honorable Phyllis K. Fong, CIGIE Chair, and Mr. Carl A. Clinefelter, CIGIE Vice Chair, will present the Awards for Excellence.

The 2010 Alexander Hamilton Award goes to the Department of Defense in recognition of exceptional performance on a series of audits to determine whether the Afghanistan Security Forces Fund was properly accounted for and whether goods and services purchased with the fund were properly delivered to the security forces. The award acknowledges achievements in improving the integrity, efficiency, and effectiveness of executive branch operations. It is considered the highest form of recognition that the IG community can bestow.

Other special awards include the following:

  • The Gaston L. Gianni, Jr., Better Government Award goes to the Bernard L. Madoff Ponzi Scheme Investigative Team, Securities and Exchange Commission, for their extraordinary efforts in expeditiously conducting this investigation, which was critical to the improvements of financial regulation and the protection of investors.
  • The Glenn/Roth Award for Exemplary Service goes to the 2010 Census Oversight Team, Department of Commerce, for outstanding service to Congress and the United States through exemplary planning, coordination, and execution of a comprehensive review of the 2010 Decennial Census.
  • The Sentner Award for Dedication and Courage goes to the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration, in recognition of dedication and courage in identifying, interdicting, and mitigating potential threats directed at the Internal Revenue Service and its employees. The award was named for William “Buddy” Sentner, III, a special agent who was fatally shot in the line of duty
  • The June Gibbs Brown Career Achievement Award goes posthumously to Laurence A. Froehlich, Federal Reserve Board, in recognition of over 33 years of sustained exemplary service and dedication to the IG community that enhanced the community’s mission and values.
  • The Award for Individual Accomplishment goes to Mark D. Jones, Department of Agriculture, in recognition of outstanding service to CIGIE for work in building a unified IG Council.
  • The Barry R. Snyder Joint Award goes to the Introductory Auditory Training Team for outstanding cooperative efforts in developing and executing Introductory Auditor Training for the Inspector General community.

In fiscal year 2009, the Inspector General community identified potential savings of almost $44 billion as well as program efficiencies and enhancements. It successfully investigated individuals and entities that threatened Government integrity and the public trust. Cumulatively, these efforts resulted in $34.9 billion in potential savings from audit recommendations; $8.9.billion from investigative recoveries and receivables; more than 5,900 successful criminal prosecutions; 6,201 indictments and criminal informations; 1,102 successful civil actions; more than 7,000 audit, inspection, and evaluation reports issued; 4,485 suspensions or debarments; and 417,349 hotline complaints processed.

The Inspector General Act of 1978 established units within many Federal agencies to combat fraud, waste, and abuse and to improve the economy and efficiency of program operations. The IG community has more than 12,600 audit, investigation, inspection, and other professionals at 69 OIGs.

CIGIE is composed of all IGs whose offices are established under section 2 or section 8G of the Inspector General Act of 1978 (5 U.S.C. App.), those that are Presidentially appointed/Senate confirmed, and those that are appointed by agency heads (designated Federal entities). Prior to the establishment of CIGIE, the Federal IGs operated under the auspices of two councils, the President's Council on Integrity and Efficiency and the Executive Council on Integrity and Efficiency.

The ceremony will take place at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, 13th Street and Constitution Avenue NW, Washington, DC, at 10 am. The public is invited; there is no charge to attend.

For more information on the IG community, visit To obtain additional information on the awards or the ceremony or to arrange interviews, please contact Don White, Office of Inspector General, Department of Health & Human Services at 202-619-0088 or