Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Awards Recognize Accomplishments of the Inspectors General Community

Media Contact

More than 85 individuals and groups will be recognized on Tuesday, October 18, 2011, for their outstanding accomplishments at the 14th annual Inspectors General Community awards ceremony. The Honorable Eric H. Holder Jr., Attorney General, will provide the keynote address at the ceremony hosted by the Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency (CIGIE).

The Honorable Jeffrey Zients, CIGIE Executive Chairperson, Deputy Director for Management and Chief Performance Officer, Office of Management and Budget, present the Inspector General (IG) community's most prestigious awards. Additionally, the Honorable Phyllis K. Fong, CIGIE Chairperson, and Mr. Carl A. Clinefelter, CIGIE Vice Chairperson, will present Awards for Excellence to recognize auditors, investigators, inspectors, attorneys, and other employees in the Federal Inspector General community.

This year's Alexander Hamilton Award will be awarded to the U.S. Department of Transportation's OIG Bridge Safety Improvement Team in recognition of its significant contributions in enhancing the safety of our nation's bridges through improvements to Federal and state inspections and oversight. The award highlights achievements in improving the integrity, efficiency, and effectiveness of Executive Branch agency operations and is the highest award bestowed by the Inspector General community.

The 2011 Sentner Award for Dedication and Courage will honor the Special Inspector General for Afghanistan Reconstruction's Commander's Emergency Response Program Team for its exemplary performance examining projects in Laghman Province, Afghanistan. The award recognizes an individual or a team demonstrating uncommon dedication and courage in the face of adversity and was named for William "Buddy" Sentner, III, a special agent at the Department of Justice Office of Inspector General (OIG) who was fatally shot in the line of duty in 2006.

Additional examples of teams that will be honored at Tuesday's awards ceremony include:

  • The Gaston L. Gianni, Jr. Better Government Award will honor the American Grocers Investigation Team from the U.S. Department of Agriculture OIG in recognition of outstanding efforts in investigating and prosecuting a conspiracy to defraud the U.S. Government, thereby ensuring the wholesomeness of exported foods to U.S. troops abroad and regaining millions of taxpayers' dollars.
  • The Glenn/Roth Exemplary Service Award to the Health Care Reform Technical Assistance Team, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services OIG, in recognition of the Team's expert technical assistance to Congress throughout the health care reform legislative drafting process.

In fiscal year 2010, the inspector general community identified potential savings of $87.2 billion as well as program efficiencies and enhancements. OIGs successfully investigated individuals and entities who threatened government integrity and the public trust. Cumulatively, these efforts resulted in $80.2 billion in potential savings from audit recommendations; $7.0 billion in potential savings from investigative recoveries and receivables; over 5,600 indictments and criminal informations; nearly 5,600 successful prosecutions; over 5,100 suspensions or debarments; and over 440,000 hotline complaints processed.

The Inspector General Act of 1978, as amended, established OIGs within Federal agencies to combat fraud, waste, abuse, and to improve the economy and efficiency of program operations. The Inspector General community has more than 12,600 audit, investigation, inspection, and other professionals at 73 Federal OIGs.

The CIGIE is composed of Inspectors General and government ethics and law enforcement officials.

The ceremony will take place at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, 13th Street and Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC, on October 18, 2011, at 10:00 a.m. The public is invited and there is no charge to attend.

For more information on the IG community, visit . For additional information on the awards or the ceremony, please contact Mark Jones, CIGIE Executive Director, at (202) 292-2600.