Skip Navigation
United States Flag

An official website of the United States government. Here's how you know >

A New Look for HHS-OIG. Learn More >>

Change Font Size

Audit (A-06-09-00099)

Review of American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 Medicaid Eligibility Requirements in Texas

Executive Summary

Texas made one policy change after July 1, 2008, that resulted in more restrictive Medicaid eligibility standards, methodologies, and procedures during the first three quarters of Federal fiscal year 2009. However, in accordance with section 5001(f)(1)(C) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Recovery Act), the State reinstated the less restrictive policy before July 1, 2009. The State also made administrative policy changes that did not affect the eligibility process. For the recession adjustment period (October 1, 2008, through December 31, 2010), the Recovery Act made additional Medicaid funding available to States based on temporary increases in the Federal medical assistance percentage (FMAP). Pursuant to the Recovery Act, a State generally is not eligible for an FMAP increase for quarters during the recession adjustment period in which its Medicaid eligibility standards, methodologies, or procedures are more restrictive than those in effect on July 1, 2008.

This report contained no recommendations.

Complete Report

Download the complete report (PDF)

Adobe® Acrobat® is required to read PDF files.

Copies can also be obtained by contacting the Office of Public Affairs at 202-619-1343.

Office of Inspector General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services | 330 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20201